Pt. called that tested pos. for covid 19.

Again I ask why are we testing asymtomatic patients??  I work in a lab where the volume of testing has gone up dramatically why because people are going on vacation and want to know they are negative.  Does this makes sense?  Sorry slightly off topic.  I would tell them to watch for fever SOB maybe buy an O2 sat and watch for declining #.  Per CDC they have to quarantine for 7-14 days.  

• Upvote 1

all elective procedures are now getting testing

contact tracings are getting tested

tell them

2 week self quarantine, test is not 100% accurate but he best we have

mask 100%

do not go around old, young, infirm

PROTECT their community by masking and droplet precautions x 14 days 

"this too shall pass"

• Like 2
  • Upvote 2

Again I ask why are we testing asymtomatic patients??  I work in a lab where the volume of testing has gone up dramatically why because people are going on vacation and want to know they are negative.  Does this makes sense?  Sorry slightly off topic.  I would tell them to watch for fever SOB maybe buy an O2 sat and watch for declining #.  Per CDC they have to quarantine for 7-14 days.  

Well... There's a difference between "asymptomatic" and "pre-symptomatic" if someone is exposed to known covid + person they should be tested.

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk

• Upvote 1

Many airlines are requiring a test to board a plane. Alaska Airlines is one. 

For some reason folks think an elective fishing trip is a good idea right now.

Some local clinics in our area are offering $99 preflight or return to work tests.

Some local companies are requiring a test if employee has traveled or been out from work for whatever reason or potentially exposed.

I am fine with testing whomever wants to be tested as long as they will do with the results what is best for the community. And realizing that the test is a day in time - could be incubating, could get exposed tomorrow.