Backpack/Book carrier

As an older student I don't have the same back as I did in my 20's. I am wondering what kind of book carriers/backpacks other PA students use out there. I am a bit old school - I like having the actual book as opposed to electronic versions so I'll be lugging around several heavy text. Thanks!

I ended up getting one of those Swiss backpacks. It has lots of padding on the back and straps, which I have learned is necessary if you want to carry around real books and have the thing last comfortably for any length of time. It also has a slot for a laptop if you carry one, but you could just slide another book in there if you wanted. It got me through didactic without any back/shoulder/neck issues. I carried my laptop & power cords, several medium-sized books, a notebook, water bottle, coffee mug, and everything that would go in a purse in it all year. I commuted to school and needed something that could bring my life with me so I could study when the mood struck while I waited to get places. It is also compact enough when you remove items that I don't feel like a crazy person when I grab it for a quick trip someplace not school-related.

You'll quickly learn how much you actually need those book in class. I suspect you'll end up leaving most at home for study most of the time, but it's still good to have a backpack that can handle it when you want to take everything to the library or coffee shop.

^^ Naaaaah^^

This is the BEST back pack EVER:

military-backpack-molle-pack.jpg

Kidding..:wink:

Back in the day...

To save my back, I bought one of those metal book racks and screwed it into the trunk of my car (making sure to use short screws and to avoid puncturing the gas tank). I put a strap around it to keep the books in place when driving.

41wjqALJd2L._SL500_AA300_.jpg

Then when we had breaks between classes, I would go out to my car, pop the trunk and change books... so I rarely had more than 1 book in my bag at a time.