Has anyone gone from working in the ED to an urgent care position? I would love to hear about anyone's experience with that or other perspectives. Why'd you make the switch? Slower pace? Better hours? Do you get bored? Just curious.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Not directly. I worked a rural ER staffed by PAs with local docs on backup for years. I have been working UC for a few years now with a little FP and IM odd job. In January I moved and started full time UC.

The current job is low stress and fairly low key. I work weird hours (combination of 8, 10, and 12 hour shifts to make 40-45 hrs/week) and have to work 2 weekends a month. That doesn't bother me because we have no kids at home and my wife works 2 weekends a month as well so we just line them up. In the current job it is really UC. Sutures, uncomplicated fractures and dislocations, coughs and colds, back pain and the like. Chest pain, complex illness and injury gets transferred to the ER. The folks I work for are evidence based medicine all the way so no nonsense like steroid and antibiotic injections for every drippy nose that walks through the door. PAs and NPs are treated like respected colleagues. It carries the headaches of corporate medicine but they are fairly minimal.

I recently worked 2 very rural private owned UCs and they were very different. Patient satisfaction was everything. Priorities were 1) make money, 2) patient satisfaction and then 3) follow good science. They did everything they could charge for. Full labs even on a patient that clearly needed to be at a higher level of care. Wring out their wallet before you send them on. One was basically a family practice that had UC capability. People came to the UC for all their routine problems including long term management off diabetes, HTN, seizures etc. 

So yes... now UC is a much lower stress job, good pay and benefits. Other places not so much.