I took the GRE twice and don't know if the scores will require me to take it a third time

The first time I took the GRE, I got a 284, but I didn't study for it.

I just took it again today and I studied this time, but a lot of personal stuff has come up and my mind has been elsewhere. I scored 9 points higher and got a 293, but that still doesn't even cut it at the 50th percentile. 

I don't know my writing score yet.

The school I'm dying to get into requires at least a score in the 50th percentile, but I spoke with them and a few friends who are in the program and the program is thinking of getting rid of the GRE all together, so it's not weighed heavily.

I do not want to drop another $200+ on this test, as I would rather save that cash for the application process, but I would be angry with myself if my top choice didn't even look at me because I didn't make the cut on this test.

Does anyone have any suggestions?

My suggestion would be take it again, and study more. If you don't meet the minimum, you don't meet the minimum. Don't give a program an easy reason to move onto the other thousand applications they are sorting through.

I know it is expensive and stressful but so is paying all those application fees to be passed over.

Two ways to look at this in my opinion.  $200 to retake the GRE, maybe you score better, maybe you don't.

Don't retake it, apply.  Maybe your dream schools looks at your app, maybe they don't.  Maybe you get an interview but don't get in for other reasons.  Maybe you get in somewhere else and decide any PA school is better than no PA school.  

If you don't get into your dream school, will you reapply the next year?  If so, that's easily another $200, too.  Either way, you could potentially be putting up an extra $200 by either taking the GRE now or having to apply another year (and potentially still retaking the GRE).