Pre-PA pathway, BS Emergency Medical Care.. questions

Long - if you make it to the end there will be cookies.

A little background:

I'm an older student (36), educated overseas, served in a foreign military as a combat medic. Moved to the US, became an EMT, worked for a 911 service and a private ambulance service in Indiana for two years, then moved to Kentucky and worked in an ED as a tech. 

KY wouldn't accept my education from overseas, so, about 4 months ago I went to the local community college, sat the GED and passed (much to the shock of the clerk there who assured me I would fail since I didn't take the prep class). Then I sat the ACT. I applied to a university about an hour from me that has a pre-PA pathway and met with the advisor on this past Tuesday, discussed my options. Decided on the BS Emergency Medical Care because of my background.

The advisor mentioned that I need at least 1000 patient contact hours, no big deal, I have years of it, and at least 2 of relatively recent years. Only after talking to my chief from the department in Indiana, none of my data is archived, almost like I was never there. He was happy to write a statement with my start and end dates, shift type, the truck I was on. But I feel as though that leads the reader to assume contact hours and even though my truck was in downtown metro (not the busiest truck but not the slowest either) I believe that this won't be enough to satisfy the requirement.

I am fortunate that my husband and I had planned for me to not work during the time I need for school, as I know I'll need to dedicate a lot to the classes and shadowing. But now I feel as though I will need to get at least a part time position to be able to get those hours recorded. 

Advice? Thoughts? 

Thank you so much for reading!

• Administrator