HCE: Pharmacy Tech versus IFT EMT-B

Hello everyone!

So in pursuit of attaining HCE for PA school, I recently became a NREMT.  I got my first job soon after with an IFT private EMS company that turned out to be quite shady.  Not to get to into it, but coming from prior career, I have an expectation of professionalism and was appalled at the sanitary and safety conditions of the equipment, and the constant flirtation with MediCare fraud.  Needless to say, I resigned very quickly and am looking for something else.

Which brings me to a question.  I have 5 years experience as a Pharmacy Technician.  This was while I was in high school and then during college.  I was quite good at it, and enjoyed the fast paced environment and managed to learn a lot about medication and disease.  In looking around at some of the schools I'd like to apply to next year, I noticed they accept Pharmacy Tech experience as HCE.  Seeing as I learned more doing Pharmacy Tech than I believe I would learn doing simple Interfacility Transport ambulance work . . . . 

1) Would pharmacy tech work be better?

and 

2)  Is my experience of 5 years as a Pharmacy Tech too old?  (This was 15-10 years ago before my big office-based career).  

Thanks for any input, I really appreciate it.

• Administrator

1) No.  After a certain point, you aren't going to learn anything significantly NEW as a pharmacy tech, you're just going to learn the same job BETTER.  After 5 years, I think you're maxxed out on what an Adcom will see as your learning in that position.

EMT stuff, even IFT work, puts you as the provider (or one of two) in charge of a patient life.  Granted, it's a stable patient else they would send them with a paramedic or nurse rather than an EMT team, but it's still YOU in charge of a living, breathing (for now) patient.  It's a specifically different type of patient care experience, and I would count it as superior.