PA school, Low GPA. Help please

Hi there,

I graduated with a degree in Biology, but really didn't know what i wanted to do with it while i was in school, and as a result, i did not receive the best grades. I got a cumulative 2.56, but I have a 3.2 in my prerequisite classes, and a better cumulative over my last 4 semesters, but still not great, 2 C's and mostly B's. 

That being said, PA school is my dream. It's something i really want to do. I recently obtained my EMT-b and want to start working, I have some HCE but not a lot, yet. I was just hoping to get some input on how to address my low GPA. What types of classes I can take, and where, to increase my GPA?

I am also very highly considering going to Paramedic school for my EMT-P. Any suggestions? Am I screwed by my old grades from when i had no idea what i was doing? Should I try and go to nursing school or RT or something over Paramedic? Would that make a difference?

Thanks anyone for input, I feel like I am in quite a bind, and would really appreciate input or suggestions.

People screw up; it's what you do next that matters.

While getting good healthcare experience is very important (and your EMT-A might open a few doors), it won't overcome your grades. The only thing that will do that is more and better grades. People do "post-bacs" with additional classes -- especially relevant science classes -- to do that. Some also choose to go to nursing school, etc to improve the academic standing. 

If you really want to be a PA, figure out a plan to improve your grades (but getting lots of As in science) and more healthcare experience. I would recommend trying to get some as an EMT and then decide if you want to be a paramedic. 

Good luck!