Hi! Could someone answer a question about PA school prerequisites? I'm an undergrad at the University of Florida, and I'm not sure whether to:
1) take organic chemistry 1 & 2 and then biochemistry
2) take "fundamentals of organic chemistry" and then "fundamentals of biochemistry"
3) just take organic chemistry 1
The "fundamentals" classes are not pre-med science classes, but I know most PA schools don't even require organic chemistry and biochemistry, and many only ask for "1 semester of organic chemistry or biochemistry". Does anyone know which of these options would be the best idea? I have registration tomorrow and I'm a bit desperate. Thank you!

Hi! Could someone answer a question about PA school prerequisites? I'm an undergrad at the University of Florida, and I'm not sure whether to:

1) take organic chemistry 1 & 2 and then biochemistry

2) take "fundamentals of organic chemistry" and then "fundamentals of biochemistry"

3) just take organic chemistry 1

The "fundamentals" classes are not pre-med science classes, but I know most PA schools don't even require organic chemistry and biochemistry, and many only ask for "1 semester of organic chemistry or biochemistry". Does anyone know which of these options would be the best idea? I have registration tomorrow and I'm a bit desperate. Thank you!

IMHO, take orgo 1 and then biochem. I do not think many schools want both orgo 1 and 2, but i have come across a number of schools who want microbio and biochem. And frankly speaking I am not even sure why biochem is such a huge deal, it is absolutely is of NO help in my didactic year.

Oh, well...

Option #1 will quality you to apply to the most PA programs and make you the most competitive applicant. Option #2 is probably for nurses and probably will not be accepted at most PA programs. Unfortunately a number of PA programs do require biochemistry and/or two semesters or organic chemistry. I suggest getting started on Option #3 for now.