What is the most difficult part of being a PA/ Do you feel there are limitations to the profession?

Hello All,

I'm a pre-PA student, currently in the application process for PA programs, and would like to gain more inside perspective on the practices of a PA.

Do any of you feel there are any major limiting factors to your practices as a PA versus a MD or NP?

Are there any current barriers that make your profession difficult?

All you input is greatly appreciated.

Thank You!

Of course there are limitations. There are limitations with everything in life. I don't find my job itself to be a limitation. Just because I am a PA and not an M.D. The truth is, I practice medicine. I have been in the same family practice for nearly 26 years. Prior to that I worked in the emergency room and prior to that I was an Air Force medic. Each job had good and bad and its own limitations. The limitations that concern me most are the limitations that keep me from taking care of patients. For example, my nurse must sometimes spend 30 minutes or more trying to get prior authorization for a necessary study on a patient. This is time spent away from patient care that makes me less productive. I think too much government intrusion into healthcare is going to be a bigger and bigger problem in the future. I agree that all people deserve access to healthcare, but I wish it could be done with less intrusion.

One of the biggest limitations is the patients themselves. One thing I have found over the last 25+ years of practice is that people want to accept less responsibility for themselves. Too many people want the magic pill. They don't want to do the hard work of losing weight, exercising, and quitting their bad habits. They expect science and medicine to solve their problems for them with no work on their own. This is unrealistic.  God helps those who help themselves.