The intubating PA

Hello everyone,

Wanted to hear from some of the veteran PA's out there as well some of the ones that follow these posts. 

How many of you were formally trained in PA school on airway management, other than using a mannequin?  Reason I ask, is that as a PA student, I have not seen anywhere on any syllabus anything that pertains to "airway management" or a formal airway training rotation, other than ED rotations.  I ask this because as I see it, if I am working rurally, I will be up poo-creek if I have had no formal training.  The fortunate thing is that I am a flight paramedic and have had a lot of formal and informal training in airway management and RSI, whereas some of my other classmates and others in different programs have had little to no airway training.  I would like to help implement an airway course at the program I attend, and would like some ideas and/or criticism of what and how I should approach our program director. 

Thanks all in advance.

The only PAs I know who intubate are former medics and RTs. we had an em procedures course at drexel and spent maybe 15 min on airway management. I intubate at all 3 of my jobs. anyone without prior experience who wants to learn airway management should take the difficult airway course or something similar and do several days of intensive airway management followed by some time in the o.r.

I did some intubating as an Army Medic before PA school. During PA school, we had some training in intubation on mannequins, and we had to intubate a mannequin to pass our EM module. Now I am in rotations, and I did an intubation today. I am doing a rotation in Ortho, and I arrived early and asked the Anesthesiologist if I could watch him do it. He talked me through it while I watched during the first two cases, and today he guided me through one. YMMV.