What is the differences between PA and RN/NP?

Hi Everyone,

I'm a Pre-PA student who recently graduated college. I was on my way to apply for PA school next year, but I recently started working in the ER of a pretty well-known hospital. From my experience as a technician there, I love talking to patients. I love helping patients, even when if it's little things like saying "my shift is done now, good luck with everything". It is one of the greatest feelings for me to be able to go in and out of a patient's room, asking if they need anything.

From what I've observed (and maybe I am totally wrong, which is why I am coming to you guys!), it seems like the nursing team is predominantly responsible for doing these kinds of tasks. It seems like a lot of the PA's and MD's are mostly on the other side, filling in charts, doing consults and going into the room only a few times to do procedures or get a medical history. And when there is a medication to give or an intervention to perform, sometimes the nurses are the ones who are doing this.

Now, I've heard that NP's are similar to PA's in that they are also focused on the diagnostic aspect of patient care. Do you believe that NP's and PA's are different? Are my assumptions about the RN/PA differences incorrect? What made you go into PA rather than nursing?

I would love to get the input of some of you since many of you are skilled and experienced professional PA's, who have worked with many sorts of occupations. Thank you in advance!

Hi Everyone,