Am I getting steammed over something small?

so I try to be as easy going as I can but recently I read a column from an admittedly new EM attending in one of the EM magz where this doc is imparting his "wisdom" on the yet to be annointed EM residents.

here is the piece:

http://www.epmonthly.com/features/current-features/rules-of-the-road-tips-for-the-new-class/

so what I am bothered is his couple of points about how to "handle" the ML's...I think this guy has a very myopic image of how to effectively work in the MD-PA model..

thoughts?

Peace

Dog

I've been doing this for many years and I am never surprised by how we are treated by some docs. Just the other day I had an attending remove a dressing from an ear lac that I had skin glued. It was one cm long but he just had to see it! This is the way it is and will likely never change.

3. Don’t let your mid-levels run you

At the start of your shift, have either an individual chat or team huddle to set your general rules for the shift. For example, “Don’t wait more than 30 minutes to present a patient, tell me before you order a d-dimer or CT, I want to be present for all procedures (bedside ultrasound), see all wounds before you suture them up, and for all patients with abdominal pain, please document a re-examination note and PO trial before discharge.”

I will acknowledge that being a new attending creates a lot of "pucker factor". And not all PA's have the same EM experience in school, so we have varying degrees of training and experience.

That being said...

If my department had myself and my fellow PA's in our group follow these rules, our department would grind to a halt. I would be completely useless.

My attendings have a lot of trust in me. The tradeoff is that I do not violate that trust and involve them as much as either I or they need to be.