Really Low GPA, what are my chances. Plz be honest.

Hello all! I have an bachelor's in economics and do not like what i do so i'm looking into possible career changes. the idea of being a physician assistant is my top choice but i need to know how realistic it is. when i was in undergrad i graduated with a GPA above but near a 2.0 maybe a 2.1 but no higher for sure. the econ program only required a 2.0 so i did just enough to get by. i regret that now but i can't undo it. so, realistically speaking, what are my chances? i would have to take all the prerequisites and lets say best case scenario i get all As on those. would my econ degree GPA hold me back? please be honest, I'm a big boy...i can take it.

Thanks!

Since you have been out of school for more than a few years, I think if you worked really hard and take all the pre-requisites starting from the beginning, do extremely well, that will be a good indication. However, you will still need health care hours in the mean time, a competitive GRE scores, and great letters of recommendation. I think you can do it if you are determined, but it will take some time. Good luck!

Usually candidates with lower GPAs need to balance it out with many hours (2000+) of solid healthcare experience as an EMT, CNA, RRT, RN, etc. Just something to keep in mind. You can do it, but it would likely involve you getting a certification in one of the above fields, working at least 1-2 years full-time in healthcare with that certification, taking 30-40 credits of sciences and getting an A in each class, getting great letters of recommendation, and several other things. You will likely have to devote 2-4 years of your life to getting into PA school. It all comes down to how bad you want it and how hard you are willing to work for it.