FP salary and productivity percentage

Hey guys,

Im a new grad and took an ER job a few months ago and realized that it wasn't for me. I found an FP job and the doc is offering a base of 85k plus a percentage of what I'm able to collect. The problem is that I'm not sure what percentage to ask for. The doc is a solo provider and I will be meeting with her tomorrow to discuss compensation in details. Please advise. Thanks.

One way is to make your total money compensation from (low end) 33% to 50% (extremely good). So, you need to figure out what that percentage equals of your collections. Then you subtract your base pay and you get the difference in a bonus.

So if your base pay was $7,000/month, and you collected $30,000 that month and you agreed to the 33%, you would take 33% of 30 = $10,000 - base pay of $7,000 = bonus that month of $3,000. If that makes sense. I pay my SP at 50% and would pay a PA at 50% if I hire one.

that is a great starting salary for FP/IM for a new grad

Then to add on a productivity would be great

I would say pie in the sky is 50% of that anything over 200% of you salary as a bonus - paid quarterly.....

Even 30% of 200% of collections is great -

maybe even try for monthly.....

Will say that you need to have FULL access to billing info for all your patients - otherwise it likely gets manipulated and you never can tell what is going on in the back office......

if you could get 85k

plus full health

plus some type of retirement matching

plus 30% of collections over 200% of your salary paid montlhly and you have about the best job out there!!

good luck,keep us updated

oh yeah... the most important thing for the first few years is mentoring, if he doesn't want to teach RUN away and come back with experience to settle in for the long run.....