Family Misunderstands

I'm currently a sophomore at LSU pursuing my B.S. in Kinesiology. I hope to attend PA school following my graduation and work towards becoming a PA-C. I'm entirely dedicated to this path and have a steady job as a medical scribe to assist me in getting my patient contact hours.

However, I'm having some difficulty with my family regarding this career path. Some of my close family members don't seem to grasp the concept of PAs, instead misinterpreting them as literal assistants to doctors and a profession more along the lines of nursing. I've tried explaining to them what they are, what they do, where they work, etc. but they can't seem to get the whole picture.

They also see this path as me giving 50%. "Why don't you just become a doctor?" and "You'll eventually pull around and get your MD" are common phrases I hear all the time. I don't want to be a doctor. I don't want to go to med school. I want to be a PA, but my family doesn't understand their role or importance.

I was wondering if anyone else has been in this situation, and if you guys have any suggestions on how to convince my family that this is a respectable career path and that I'm making a conscious, adult decision not to pursue my MD?