New Grad Offered VA Assessments Gig, will this pidgeonhole me into this type of work?

I'm a new grad and newly licensed, located in San Diego interested in primary care/family medicine. Been looking for a job for about a month and am struggling to find a place willing to hire new grads. Everyone wants 1-2  years experience minimum. Applied for 60+ jobs, received about 10-15 phone interviews, and 3 follow up video interviews. To date I have received one offer which is conducting VA assessments. Pay is adequate, but my only fear is that given that there is not diagnosing/treating that if I do this for a year or 2 I may be in the same boat with potential future hiring companies claiming I lack the 1-2 year's experience they're looking for as this isn't conventional patient contact - it seems more like an admin/paperwork type gig. Does anyone have experience with this? I am more than willing to try this out, but fear I may be pidgeonholing myself into this type of work. I fear I may not be able to secure employment other than similar gigs in the future. Am I mistaken? Or would 1-2 years experience in VA assessments count as adequate patient contact for family medicine? Any thoughts? 

11 hours ago, holisticpa said:

Does anyone have experience with this? I am more than willing to try this out, but fear I may be pidgeonholing myself into this type of work. I fear I may not be able to secure employment other than similar gigs in the future. Am I mistaken? Any thoughts? 

No, I don't have experience in that field, but yes, I do think it will pigeonhole you. Keep looking for a new-grad-friendly and supportive FM/PC job outside of SD.

• Like 3

I just went through the VA assessment again, wound up with a NP who I indirectly knew who did most of it.  She was also a new grad, and wasn't terribly thrilled about the job.   I've seen the ads for the jobs saying up to $100/hr....but they pay per exam, not per hour.  So be careful assuming they pay what they say they pay.