Working Interview - is it legal?

Apologies if this is in the wrong forum. I'm a new grad who's been called for a "working" interview at an urgent care. My license is still in process, so I was wondering what I should expect and what are the limits to this? Is it just shadowing, taking HPIs, etc. but not actually doing PEs, etc. on patients? Can't find much info about this online for the medical field, so all your help is very appreciated!

You aren’t trained on their EMR system, so you probably won’t need to be do anything other than interact, assess, plan, and communicate that to the provider that’s going to be with you in the room. It’s most likely they want to make sure you aren’t a weirdo with their patients, and get a glimpse at your skills.

I’d pass. It’s offensive to me that anyone would “test me”, and I’d decline and move on....if I even gave them any further conversation at all. I’d be fine telling them how I feel about that too. That’s even as a new grad. 

• Like 2

I personally see nothing wrong with being interviewed in this way. They haven't the slightest idea who you "are" and vice versa. You'll get to see how they interact with you and they get an idea of your interpersonal skills.

Big question: What is really the worst thing that could happen if you do this? You won't get the job (or won't want the job). Which is precisely what will happen if you turn down the interview.

• Upvote 1

It’s probably just shadowing.  I can’t imagine any workplace allowing a non employee on the work floor.  Do they ask crane operators to come on down and take the cranes for a spin, before they are hired?  What if you had a needle stick injury?  Not covered under workers comp, because you are not a worker.  
“Hey, Dr Jones, let’s have you come in for a ‘working interview’ in surgery, see how things work out”.  Malpractice lawyers would start planning their retirement.