State PA Practice Act

I was put in a difficult position with my boss today. He is a good boss and we get along normally. I've been with him 5 years and I went to work for him when I graduated PA school.

Our state practice act states that we can not practice at an off site location over 45 miles or 1 hour from the main practice without our SP or without previous approval by the state medical board. I don't necessarily agree with this but it is state law. I work in SC. Two days ago our office manager left a note on my desk letting me know I would need to go to our off site office to do an H&P & a post operative follow up. I assumed my boss would be going with me since they are aware of State law. We have applied for permission but have not received it yet. The medical board was specific and made sure I am aware not to do this until I have received approval.

This AM when I got to the office I found out that he wasn't going. So I went to both my boss and the office manager and reminded them I cannot go without him. He did not understand and pretty much thought I was being ridiculous. We had words, told me he put his license on the line every time we walk into the OR. I told him i do too but this is directly defying what i have been advised not to do. I tried to explain the difference as I would be directly going against what the state allows me to do, he has a license to operate.

He had me call the state board & ask the person in charge of PA license. When she agreed with me he had me go an extra step and contact the administrator of the state medical board. He said he wanted to speak with him as well but when the administrator confirmed that I was correct he would not talk to him. I even printed out the state PA practice act for him but he didn't want to see it.