GPA - non traditional applicant

I am concerned about my GPA. As a background, I am a non traditional pre-PA student. I graduated with a Bachelor of Science degree in Psychology more than 20 years ago from a foreign university. For the past year, I had been retaking all required pre-requisites to be able to apply to PA school. I am planning to apply next cycle (April 2019). Anyway, my concern is this: I think my cGPA from my foreign university will not even reach a 3 but my cGPA from retaking the pre-requisites (this past year)is a 3.89 and my sGPA is a 4. My patient care hours probably amounts to more than 5000 hrs and counting. Do you guys think I have a chance of getting an acceptance to PA school? Any suggestions? Opinions? Thanks!

If it has been 20 years, I doubt many schools will pay all that much attention to your old GPA. How many credits are involved in your recent GPA and have you taken anything additional to the basic requirements to demonstrate your abilities?

My favorite one to see there is pathophysiology, which is often not required but is a pretty good facsimile of some of the PA coursework.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

9 hours ago, UGoLong said:

If it has been 20 years, I doubt many schools will pay all that much attention to your old GPA. How many credits are involved in your recent GPA and have you taken anything additional to the basic requirements to demonstrate your abilities?

My favorite one to see there is pathophysiology, which is often not required but is a pretty good facsimile of some of the PA coursework.

The biggest problem is if the cumulative GPA is sub 3.0 getting auto filtered out by systems.  Schools may see the GPA and not take the time to consider that it is old coursework.  Unfortunate but true.

5000 hrs of (unknown) PCE may not be enough to overcome that.