Ever get used to your ED schedule?

I'm a second year student currently and I am really leaning towards Emergency Med. I have rotated through once and have an elective setup for a few months from now. I am very well aware of the dynamics of emergency department scheduling and what my future career may look like (which I am about 80% okay with). I am just curious as to whether or not you guys have gotten used to your schedules, or not. Have you come to peace with working some holidays and missing some family events that fall outside of normal (m-f 8-5) working hours. I am by no means looking for "normal" schedule, simply just trying to see how you all feel about your specific situations....

If you work 3 twelve hours shifts, you have something like 100 days off a year. Holidays you get used to missing; for religious holidays there are often people of another faith very happy to make time and a half and trade your shift. Family events you should almost always be able to schedule around, as long as you work with decent humans.

I've worked many different schedules - 3x12s, rotating days nights, weekends, 5x8s, call rotations, etc.  Far and away the best in my opinion is 3x12s.  I don't care about working weekend shifts with this schedule because you still have so much free time outside of work.  I don't mind nights as an APP because they're usually slower paced and more relaxed.  Call is no biggie.  3x12s means you are only working 43% of the year.  You are off way more than you're at work!  Can't beat it.  And as long as at the holiday schedule is done fairly, you only rarely miss the important ones.  

the best is 6 24s. 144 hrs/month and 24-25 days off/month ?

I have worked all the options. 4 tens is ok, 3 12s is ok. 5 8s blows. 

all nights is better than a rotating schedule. I currently work 3 out of 4 saturdays, but only work 1 friday/month. If I want a saturday off I can request it off in advance for a concert or whatever.