PAs in management roles.

I’m curious as to if there are any PAs who are involved in management roles, i.e. clinic manager, etc. I currently work in an urgent care setting and the new clinic director is a newly minted family practice physician who is simply not doing a good job. I have over twenty years of medical experience in various settings as a PA and a degree in Business administration yet, I cannot get a seat at the table. I have offered some good suggestions for improving clinic flow and in some other areas and each time I am summarily dismissed. Would an MBA give me any clout or would I simply be seen as a PA. Just looking for some input.

thanks

I thought the chair of at Hopkins EM was Gabor Kelen?  I'm not in EM but I've heard of him since medical school.  He's a well known figure with lots of academic accomplishments...unless he recently quit?

anyway, minor quibble that has nothing to do with the gist of the thread, because the guy you mentioned is obviously management, and has a lot of responsibilities (executive director of capacity management and critical event response preparedness).

Edited by lkth487

If you are talking about departmental chief PAs or APP directors, they usually come with time and experience with the company. All of the PA/NP directors in my hospital have been with the hospital working clinically for at least 10 years, eventually transitioned out of clinical medicine and working primarily in the administrative role now. Some have MHAs, some have MBAs, some have neither.