Tail coverage for a place I worked for a day?

Guest ERCat

Guest ERCat

This happened back in 2015 so I have no idea why I am worried about this now but here it goes. 

When I was a new grad I accepted a job in the medical department at a psych facility. After ONE day of on the job training (and BEFORE this a few days of training for other things like crisis management without patient involvement) I knew that this job would NOT be suitable for me as a new grad as there was no internal medicine supervising physician for me to contact (only a psychiatrist). I did not feel comfortable with that level of independence so I told them that I would not be able to work for them.

Looking back now, I think they had a claims made policy and I never looked into a tail. 

I assumed this was fine because I never had anything billed under my name to my knowledge. All I did for ONE DAY was “shadow” and I think I wrote a few notes based on the patient encounter of the physician assistant I was shadowing; I.e essentially acting as a scribe, for the physician assistant I shadowed. The memory is foggy because it was a few years ago but I remember the physician assistant I was shadowing with wanted me to put something under my name and I asked if we could keep it under his name for the shadowing shift. He complied with this to my knowledge. These were low risk encounters - I.e intake appointments where you simply ask questions about the patient’s psych background- and we only saw like two or three patients that day! After that one day I put in my notice. Sucks for them, But I just could not in good conscience take a job like that where I had no supervision.