University of Oklahoma 2018-2019 Applicants

• 3 months later...
  • 1 month later...

@BeBe I’m an Anesthesia tech with 3+ years direct patient care experience so I was fortunate to have had a lot of access to PA friends letting me shadow. I did most of my official hours shadowing open heart surgeries and then orthopedic related on the floor and also in the ER. I think I did an official 40 hours? I might try to add more but between school and work it’s been hard to find the extra time. Congrats on wrapping up your app! It’s relieving being done until you get on this forum and hear how competitive a lot of the programs are for first time applicants. Hopefully we all rock our interviews and get into our top picks!

How many shadowing hours did everyone else have? Did the GRE kick your butt? 

The stats on getting in first time are pretty low, so I’m just letting go and preparing for another year. ? so far, this year I’ve shadowed about 20 hours but I have 40 hours from a few years ago. I have shadowed in psych, urology, ED, hospitalist, and I’m trying to get some family hours because that’s where I want to practice and where I’m working now. It’s so weird that there are no PAs in the clinic where I work... wish there were!

I’m so happy not to need the GRE! I think it might be the best thing about having a master degree. lol

• 3 weeks later...

Hey there! I'm Tras from Arkansas. I'm applying to both OU-Tulsa and OKC. I was verified by CASPA on 7/10, and I got everything submitted (except CASPer, which I took 7/25) and confirmed on 7/12...or so I thought. Looking at this thread, I decided to go look at the online portal and noticed that I FORGOT TO SUBMIT MY OKC ONLINE APP AND FEE. Gah. I'm an idiot. I guess when I saw that OU-Tulsa was taken care of it screwed me up or something. Oh well...live and learn, I guess.