Best Patient Care Experience?

I'm currently working as a scribe in the ER. I know many schools accept this but I've read that it's best to have some more hands on patient care experience as well. I've looked into CNA but have heard many negative things about it. What are the best ways to get hands on patient care experience without having to complete a long training program? I have my bachelor's degree and am currently drowning in student loans, so I can't afford any training programs. I'm looking for something with training programs similar in length to that of a CNA that are either free or low in cost, so not any technical schools or anything with tuition. I want to make sure I get as much as I can to make me a competitive applicant so any and all advice is greatly appreciated!

I used to scribe as well in a family medicine clinic. To get more hands on experience I took a CNA course through my community college that was almost 2 months long. I recently was hired as a patient care assistant. You should look for that title in your area (glassdoor, indeed). I work in the emergency room in a hospital and I get to do all the fun stuff. I'm first on the scene, take vitals, do EKG's, help with procedures. Best part is that patients go home within a few hours. I also am not responsible for ALD's since the patients are only here for a short period, as compared to working at a retirement home. Personally, I enjoy the fast paced atmosphere of the ER and prefer it over long term care facility. There are many opportunities and all kinds of job positions with a CNA degree!!

1 hour ago, ScubaBubble said: