2017-2018 Application Cycle

• Replies 112
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • 2 weeks later...

Hi everyone, I am currently in my 1st year here at the UNC PA program. If you guys have any questions about the program I would be happy to try and answer them. I spoke with the faculty, and they said they will be sending out interviews the beginning to middle of August. Best of luck to everyone!

Hi MelissaW83,

I would have to say what I like most about the program is that they are genuinely their to help you succeed. They do everything they can to help you with your courses and are very receptive to feedback. Since the program is new, their are still a few bumps to be hammered out, but they do everything they can to make the next semester better for their students. Since the program is also only 20 students, it feels more like a family. Everyone helps everyone and no one gets left behind. As far as skills lab goes, we spend about 4 hours a week on average working with standardized patients, hospital patients, and working with our classmates to better our history, physical, diagnosis, and treatment plans. I don't know exactly the class statistics as to grades and GRE scores, but everyone comes from many different backgrounds. I think our average student age is 30 and clinic hours vary greatly between everyone. Also, about half of our class was in the military previously. I hope that answers your questions. Let me know if their is anything else I can answer for you!

That is great thank you ! Part of what I love about Chapel Hill is the commitment to Veterans. I previously served in the Navy as a Hospital Corpsman . 

That is great about class size and the team approach. That is what I am looking for in a program. 

Thank you so much for responding and taking time out. 

• 2 weeks later...

Hi