So... do you get used to the blood and guts??

Hello Everyone!

I am a newbie here, just starting on pre-requisites at Touro and starting a volunteer gig in ER in July. All day today I have been watching 'Trauma: Life in the ER' on Discovery Health channel and for most of the show I have been grossed out. I have never seen a stab wound up close or someone lose their eyeball in a car accident. I know that being a PA in surgery/ER can be completely different from being a PA in psychiatry, but I was curious to know if anyone here actually fainted or got sick when they first encounterd a traumatic situation? Does it get better the more you are exposed to it?

I'm aware that for the most part you need a strong stomach within medicine, but getting over the hurdle of never beimg exposed to someone profusely bleeding worries me. :sweat:

Any suggestions, thoughts?

Thx

-M

volunteering wont get you close enough lol but you will still see some stuff. I remember working as a registration rep in the ER and walking through the ER on a Sunday morning to the smell of old urine (the neighboring nursing homes seemed to send everyone over on sunday) and a code brown. Then there was the night that someone drove themselves to the ER with several gunshots and they parked in the ambulance parking and we had a patient coding on the way---guess who got to suit up and move the blood soaked car :-) I worked in the ICU as a unit clerk and got to help change the pad under the 750+lb lady----hmm so maybe as non-clinical staff you may get to do some stuff :-) lol

I will say so far the only thing I have never been able to handle well is vomitt and vomitting and the sounds that are associated with it--makes me want to throw up too but I deal.

Ah.... I see that this will be my baptism by fire! I'm up for the challenge though. My desire to help people will hopefully annihilate all fear.