Overtime Pay in CA

I worked at an urgent care where they also don't pay overtime even though it's an hourly position. One of my PA colleagues said they get around it by calling us "managers". I would also love a definitive answer on this if anyone knows. I did some research but it's so confusing with us being exempt professionals and having alternative work weeks, etc.

I am now working at a different UC where we do get OT pay.

My understanding of CA labor law is that all hourly employees unless they are 1099 are eligible for overtime. In order to be exact you have to be in a supervisory role which means that you have direct reports who you have the ability to hire or let go.

I also get paid hourly with straigtime and no OT at UC. I believe that they are breaking CA labor laws. At least this what my previous 12 years of business management experience tells me, I could be wrong as I'm new to the world of medicine and I'm unaware of any exceptions.

I've seen a law firm on Facebook asking PAs to join for class actions regarding this topic.

If you are hourly, you must be paid overtime.  This can be based on working over 8 hours or working over 10 hours (The 10 or 12 hours falls under "alternative work week" and is used for healthcare industry which often work 10-12hr shifts).  At my full time job we are based on 8 hour shifts and OT for over 8 hours.  At my urgent care job the shifts are 10 hours and OT comes after 10.  There was a group of PA/NP that sued there employer years ago and this defined that we do not fall under the EXEMPT status if hourly.  

http://www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/faq_overtime.htm

https://www.dir.ca.gov/t8/11040.html

According to FLSA federal law, if a PA is paid an hourly wage they must be paid overtime.  Hours over 40 per week (or 80 per two weeks if hospital based) are subject to overtime.  This is not a state by state law - this is federal law.  Here is the link to the AAPA's page about it.....

https://www.aapa.org/twocolumn.aspx?id=2796