Ok, so I have read through most of the other forums on this topic and everyone seems to hate being a 1099-er. My question is ..is it really that bad if:

1. The job is per diem (so I don't need any benefits from them)

2. Malpractice is covered

3. 65/hr

4. Easy patient load with 10-15pp/day. I've seen quadruple this alone.

I have been offered a job with these specs. Its close to home. Should I ask for more (I have 7 years experience) in anticipation of filing 1099 leaving me with nothing at 65/hr? I guess my fear is that taxes will kill me. I have made this amount before as a W2. Should I expect my take home to be the same?

HELP! not sure what to expect.

the liability for doing 1099 really falls mostly on the employer 

The thing you give up is all the bennies and a reasonable wage

A big one everyone forgets about is workers comp - if you do not have this all you have to fall back on it your own health insurance, and if you do not have a disability policy you are endangering your future income.

As well - every case of 1099 that I have heard get audited has lost - you have to be able to set your own schedule, work when you want to, with your own tools and equipment... obviously none of these are true in almost every case - although I do think house calls it would work for as long as the employee set the schedule.  

In a clinic setting no way

Also, $65/hour is my floor for a per diem job as and employee.  As a 1099 I would want to be listed on med mal, and be close to $100/hour.  

but as always, if you really need the job..........

the liability for doing 1099 really falls mostly on the employer 

The thing you give up is all the bennies and a reasonable wage

A big one everyone forgets about is workers comp - if you do not have this all you have to fall back on it your own health insurance, and if you do not have a disability policy you are endangering your future income.