Best region/state for new PA's to practice

Hi all.

I'm currently a student in the Pittsburgh area. It seems with so many schools in Pennsylvania, and just casually looking at job boards, that there aren't exactly a ton of vacancies here for PA's.

I was curious, what areas/states/cities seem to have the most opportunity for new and experienced PA's? Not just jobs, but salaries? In other words, I'm assuming an area with shortage of schools may also have a shortage of practicing PA's.

I'm also wondering if these areas would command better salaries? UPMC pretty much owns everything here anyway, so I'm guessing even if there are positions, there's probably a decent salary limitation.

Any thoughts on where to go? I'm a family man with two young sons, so I don't want to be in a huge city or in a rural area miles away from everything. Good school systems are important as is some type of civilization.

Thanks for your ideas and thoughts.

you just need to become a Lions fan... Grand Rapids is an incredible area. Medically, it is growing. Great family area, lots to do. Lots of job potential near there... as far as Pittsburgh goes, there are jobs- they may not all get posted though... the pay for PAs is just rumored to be lower than other geographic areas.

Texas is not bad, however the Texas state board of medical examiners is gestopo 'esk. Goodness help you if someone complains for pretty much anything. It's never happened to me, but it has a couple good friends. The board treats them as 100% guilty before any facts are given by the provider. It's bad.

• 7 months later...
Oklahoma is also a great state for PAs. I don't recommend Missouri. If you want to be in the N.E., have you consider Geisinger Health Care of Pennsylvania?