Questions from an MD who wishes he were a PA

Hi everyone,

I graduated a US Med school in 2010, now 2 years into residency but am having serious doubts about my profession (radiology) and am looking into to other career options, medical and otherwise. What prompted my thought about this was having had a shave biopsy this morning by a PA who makes 100K+ at a Derm office. I would strip myself of the title 'doctor' and the MD from my badge, and take on this job TOMORROW if it were hypothetically offered to me...in all sincerity. I think it's a great, balanced way to earn a living.

A few questions if someone out there happens to be generous enough with their time to answer.

1) Is there any precedent for an MD acquiring PA licensure? For instance, the NCCPA website states that you have to have graduated from an accredited PA school to sit for PANCE. By default, I'm assuming that statement includes someone with an MD but I also my situation is maybe an exceedingly rare one.

2) Another question out of ignorance, but I noticed some forums about residencies. Is this required of PAs or just an option? I was under the impression that upon graduating (27 months?) you are employable.

3) What exactly are the requirement for employment? Does it vary on a state by state basis, or on an employer by employer basis? I noticed there are PAs and PA-Cs... but unless I'm mistaken you can't get a state licensure unless you are PA-C. And to bring it full circle, do employer sometimes/often/always require state licensure before hiring?

4) What are the competitive specialties that PAs go into these days?

Thank you so much to the kind soul who doesn't mind answering.

you would need to apply to and complete an entire pa program to be eligible to sit for pance. it is highly unlikely(and I say this as a former adcom member) that any pa program would accept a physician who already has a license to practice medicine. it would be a waste of a valuable spot.