I am a new grad (soon, at least) gearing up to apply for my first job. I'm open to working in a variety of settings, but I've received some worrisome advice from a friend:

"Make sure you don't accept a job with a lower pay, not because you desperately need the extra income, but because you set the bar for income level at all future jobs."

How true is this advice with regards to the PA profession? I was told that prospective employers frequently call previous employers to find out their salary. And because of this, employers tend to "low ball" these applicants and view them as less deserving of a higher salary than others with previously higher incomes.

While I can see how this could be true for other professions with more flexible requirements and employment history, I'm wondering if this applies to PAs. I'm wondering especially with providers who switch from clinic to surgery or vice versa. This seems more apples to oranges than clinic to clinic or surgery to surgery, where the comparison might be clearer.

I'm curious what everyone thinks.

Let me preface my response by saying that I absolutely want to see all PAs thrive in the current market and get due compensation for services rendered.

That said...new grads should be informed that you are negotiating from a place where you cannot expect to get top dollar when you don't have any experience to justify the premium salary.

I certainly don't suggest new grads take jobs that are below market value,however, the focus should be on finding the right niche to gain experience in a supportive clinical practice.

Very few PAs stay at their first job for extended periods so making the first job about experience should be the focus.

I've seen new grads turn down jobs over a few thousand dollars yet are willing to extend  the job search  ultimately discovering that the salary driven job search doesn't pay off in terms of gainful employment in the vast majority of cases.