Physician Assistant or Doctor?

In short, I graduated 2 years ago in construction management and after a battle with cancer, I have decided to return to school so that I can work with cancer patients. Originally, I was dead set on doing it the MD way. I stumbled across the PA route when my girlfriend's friend mentioned that she was looking into it. When I read into it, I thought that is what I want to do and started forming my future class schedule to handle the pre-reqs and I took the GRE. The more I think about it though, I keep feeling in the back of my mind that I will regret not going the full distance. I'm going to be 25 in the fall and me and my girlfriend (future wife) have no kids and it will just be the two of us and she finishes grad school a year before I would start either. I've watched the videos with Sundance and I have shadowed both doctors and PAs but am still at crossing point. I have had two doctors encourage me to pursue med school because they say they see potential and doctor qualities in me in how I carry myself. Ultimately, I know I must decide for myself. If it was just me and I had no one, I would do the MD route. I know some will argue that that is how you should approach the decision anyway, but I can't be that selfish and not consider my future wife. She has told me that she is on board with whatever I decide and although the med school route will be tough, that she supports me. So I have teetered and tottered and I don't have to make any concrete decisions today, but I can't stand not having a definite plan. Based on what I have said, what do you think?