Applying for a PA job with a an MD degree?

Hello everyone,

I am a 4th year medical student from ROSS who is about to graduate in June 2011. Does anyone know if it is possible to apply for a PA job in the U.S. with an MD degree? :wink: And no, I do not have a PA degree.

The reason for asking is because I might not start MD residency right away this year. I figured that if I work as a PA at a community hospital, I can still retain some clinical skills necessary for residency.

Thanks in advance,

Cardiazem

Hello everyone,

I am a 4th year medical student from ROSS who is about to graduate in June 2011. Does anyone know if it is possible to apply for a PA job in the U.S. with an MD degree? :wink: And no, I do not have a PA degree.

The reason for asking is because I might not start MD residency right away this year. I figured that if I work as a PA at a community hospital, I can still retain some clinical skills necessary for residency.

Thanks in advance,

Cardiazem

To put it in perspective, what you are really asking, is it OK to practice unlicensed medicine in the United States? Does that make it easier to figure out?

To put it in perspective, what you are really asking, is it OK to practice unlicensed medicine in the United States? Does that make it easier to figure out?

I understand where you're coming from.

Well, I'm surprised that the MD degree does not permit one to practice as a PA. So, I need a separate PA license to practice as a PA?

Why is MD degree + practicing as a PA = "unlicensed medicine"? (A very strange question, I know. But, I need some insight.)

I mean MDs have more knowledge and power than PAs. PAs go to PA school for 3 years, and can start practicing right away. MDs go to MD school for 4 years and have to do residency for 3-7 years, depending on specialty, and then start practicing afterwards. What can a PA do that an MD cannot?? And PAs usually have to practice under MD supervision. MDs make the decisions.