low balled myself :/

Well I made the mistake of throwing out the first number during negotiations. I'm a new grad and I threw out a number around the base salary 50th percentile for new grads in the specialty. The recruiter says that is definitely doable and I get the idea that we are either completely in agreement or I came in under their expectations. Formal offer is coming on Monday that will include bennies and such. 1 year contract so I know I can renegotiate then but are their any strategies to regain any ground I might have lost? I would feel skeezy if they offer the upper end of my number and I ask for more.

Strategies I thought of:

-sign on bonus

-productivity bonus (but as a new grad?)

-loan repayment

-negotiating that my idea of base pay didn't include call

-last resort, I did more research and think I deserve more/plain old counter offer

Any other advice would be appreciated (including telling me don't be greedy)!

In an interview and discussing money is not recommended because you may harm your chances of receiving the highest possible salary. The saying goes that in negotiations, whoever speaks of money first is the loser. One should keep this in mind, and allow the interviewer to show their cards before you do.

Well, if they offer you the job, they want you.  Some may disagree with me here, but my thoughts are, when they accept your offer, say something akin to "After doing more research of the local job market and speaking with other providers, I realized that a fair compensation is actually higher than what I initially said and would like to be reconsidered at a higher compensation level, of $xxxxx."  I mean what's the worse they can say?  Sorry, we don't want to offer you the job anymore?  I suppose possible, but highly unlikely.  I reckon it can't hurt....

Here's the offer I received, it's an ortho practice.

Salary- $90k up to $92.5k in 6 months

Full malpractice

Medical/dental- $300/month family plan

3 weeks PTO

5 days + $1500 CME