Quickest route to degree, does it matter?

Hi, I am new here but have been reading for awhile.

I'm a 29 year old paramedic with over 20,000 hours of experience. I have no 4 year degree but have the majority of the science prereqs done for most PA schools

My goal is to get into a nearby PA school that doesn't yet require a BA/BS degree

However, if not accepted I will continue my education and would like to get my bachelors (I want to do this either way actually)

I would like to get that "piece of paper" the quickest way and get the best possible grades.

Is majoring in science that will require me taking lots of math and the hard sciences necessary? I was considering health science, or even a degree in communications . What are your thoughts on this?

Thank you.

Guest MedLib42

It really depends on the school you're applying to - they seem to have have different thoughts on this. I know there are quite a few that favor science majors. The advantage here is that you get to take a bunch of upper level science classes that may not necessarily be required for PA school, but will show the admissions committee that you can handle a rigorous curriculum comprised of mainly difficult sciences. And your sGPA will look stronger if it's, say, 40+ credits at 3.9 versus 15 or 20 credits at 3.9. 

However, I've also heard several schools say that as long as you've completed your prerequisites and done well, the major doesn't matter. And in fact, one of them said they got bored seeing all science majors come through - they liked individuality and diversity among majors. They accepted some performing arts majors, some foreign language majors, some English, I think... so it probably depends largely on the school.