2nd year applicant

Hello all!

I am interested in what the feedback would be from you guys as to if I am a good applicant. I have been experiencing a lot of difficulty getting into PA programs because I do not have this GPA or this GRE score. I am just curious if I am ever going to get in. I have a BS in Biological Engineering that i graduated from last May with a 3.168. The major problems I have experienced is that my science GPA is a 2.9. I know this is low but I took the majority of my biology/chem/physics classes my first two years of college. I had originally gone into biological engineering thinking that it would help me look different and stand out against other applicants. I am wrong though, it has hurt me more than helped me.  So after calling programs and figuring it out what exactly I am missing I think I have greatly increased my application. In the last year I have worked at a dermatology clinic as a MA for one year, went to Guatemala for a medical volunteer trip where I learned spanish, just got a new job at a primary care clinic as a MA. On top of all of that I have over 100 hrs shadowing (PAs and MDs), over 800 hrs community service.  What am I doing wrong guys, please help me out. I really really want to get in this year. Am I just applying to the wrong programs?

the science gpa is not convincing people you can handle an intense science work load. the MA experience is minimal patient care, 3.1 overall gpa is on the low end. i would say your chances are very low for acceptance but so many of these new PA schools will reduce the admissions criteria. look at some of the new programs opening in the next few years.  do you have a polished interview and personal story ? maybe get some feedback and practice interviewing. That can be an important component in my opinion.