Miles to go until I sleep....we still have so far to go as a profession.

Some of you, like Primadonna and LW already know this story, most of you do not. I'm not angry about this. But it saddens me to know how far we still have to go as a profession.

I graduated with my DHSc in 2012, and as some of you know, have been developing a research career. I've been invited to attend international research collaboratives, have applied for and gotten some funding (both internal and external), have published multiple papers (with 5 more in submission now) and am working clinically in our Spine Center. Externally, I have multiple collaborators, and my research is progressing well.

Clinically, my career has never been better. I have complete autonomy, and am treated as an equal by my PM&R colleagues.

Academically here, however, is another story. Part of this story requires the background. Our Spine Center is undergoing a massive re-design. As part of this, we would like to improve the care of our Spine patients, both in the Center, as well as in primary care.

We have a program here called the Healthcare Delivery Scholars program. It is a program for "doctorally trained clinicians" and is designed to provide some formal mentorship in specific areas of HSR for clinical providers. I am very strong, and actually have advised the program informally on theory, specifically economic and organizational theory. I am also strong on some methodologies such as patient reported outcomes and survey methodologies, but one methodology that I have some experience with, but wanted to develop further was the use of decision aids, and the development of clinical decision and prediction rules. I also wanted to become better with systematic reviews, and particularly the meta-analyses portion.