Are curious and creative? Are you happy as a PA?

Forgive me for butting into the professional forum, but I would like to hear from some professional PAs.

I am pre-PA and am shadowing at a primary care office.  I asked the supervising physician what he is looking for in a PA to hire.  He said that he wanted them to be clones of himself. He wanted the PAs to speak to the patients in the same way about the same things and prescribe the same drugs as he does.  He doesn't want any independent thinkers.  I get it.  Continuity of care.

But I really can't be a clone or a cog.   I don't need to have the final say, but once I've earned it through education and experience, I want my voice to be taken seriously.  And I will always have thoughts of my own.  I am a capable researcher of Pubmed with a curious mind.

I am so in love with making people's bodies better so that they have more quantity and quality of life. My brain will always turn in the direction of "Could this care be better and how?"  I will always take an unsolved problem and search for answers.  I will always take the best researched and most comprehensive approach to caring for people. I want the best, fastest, results with the fewest side effects.  I will always feel compelled to come up with the best solution I can within the given constraints.  

I have been so thrilled with my exposures to hands on healthcare, like examining a baby or listening to a heart murmur. But since speaking to this doctor, I have doubted somewhat my place as a PA.  

I am 33 and I don't want to go to medical school.  I am female, want to have a family, and have a number of hobbies.

Do you have any thoughts?

lots of similar posts here, do a search.