Hello all,

I used the search function and couldn't find anything relevant, so I'm sorry if this topic has popped up a few times without my notice. I'm a new graduate student - my school offers a "fifth year free" program where students can earn an accelerated masters' degree and attend courses free of charge. I double majored in Biology and Psychology and am currently doing some neat genetics stuff for the Bio program - my eventual goal is to become a Psych or Neuro PA.

Between the double major and annoying liberal arts requirements, I was unable to fulfill all of the courses that most PA schools look favorably upon. I'm taking some of them this term (namely Biochemistry), but my school won't allow me to register for non-graduate level courses. I was interested in taking Microbiology, but it doesn't seem like I'll be able to take it the normal way (for credit). Does anyone know whether there would be any value in auditing the course? I'd like schools to know I have some experience with the material, but I don't see the point if it's just going to be blown off. Of course, I'd LOVE it if the audit was accepted for general credit (instead of needing to pay to take the course somewhere else after this), but I doubt that'll happen anytime soon.

Anybody have any experience with this?

Hello all,

I used the search function and couldn't find anything relevant, so I'm sorry if this topic has popped up a few times without my notice. I'm a new graduate student - my school offers a "fifth year free" program where students can earn an accelerated masters' degree and attend courses free of charge. I double majored in Biology and Psychology and am currently doing some neat genetics stuff for the Bio program - my eventual goal is to become a Psych or Neuro PA.