ER/Trauma code I just saw...

So I work as an EMT for a transport company. We had to transfer a pt from one ER to another after he had a tib/fib fx. We drop our pt off and as we are giving the report I can hear the fire dept. encoding with a victim w/ multiple stab wounds coming in code 99. Incidentally our squad was blocked in by the incoming squad so I was able to watch the entire trauma team/ER crew run the code. I have to say it was one of the most impressive things I've seen. Despite this being the first time I've ever seen someone die in front of me, my already high level of respect for the ER staff has gone way up. I don't want to say "cool", but it was amazing to see the team work together as one unit. Everyone seemed to know what the other people around them were going to do and they had the pt intubated within a few seconds. It was pretty difficult to see everything that was going on because it was chaotic, but at the same time it was so controlled and they never seemed to be panicked. I only bring this up because I want to give all the EM people here their due praise for what they do every day. My main interest is in EM and knowing that I can witness that without it rocking my world makes me want to know everything I possibly can in order to be that efficient and effective in those situations. I know there are some awesome EM PAs in this forum and I just want to say keep up your fantastic work and keep inspiring us pre-PAers to be the best we can. I hope this isn't in any way inappropriate, I just wanted to relay my experience and how it affected me.

places with designated trauma teams alwys run like this. there are assigned roles for each team member and inside of 10 min they can get a pt stabilized and to the o.r. with central lines, chest tubes, foley, intubation, etc already done.