Moat Unusual Career Before Becoming a PA

(should have said "Most"!)

I was interested to see who had/has the most unusual career before going to PA school. All of us were exposed to medicine somewhere along the line, but what else did you do?

I was an engineer/project management consultant for my day job. My most unusual assignment was on an inspection team, seeing if we could (with approval of the authorities!) attempt to break into a sensitive government installation.

Here's my story of getting to and through PA school: http://www.amazon.com/dp/1479372099/ref=tsm_1_fb_lk

I was a Vice-President at a CD/DVD manufacturing facility that specialized in nitch products like bendable CDs and DVDs, glow in the dark printing, thermal color changing printing and scatch n sniff printing on discs. Got a patent on Braille printing on optical media as well and some other patents regarding media and packaging.

Prior to that I used to do cost negotiations for fortune 100 companies and before that I worked at Verizon wireless (started off as a CSR answering phone calls then worked my way into training).

Concurrently I was and still am a PADI scuba instructor. I also worked as a Skipper at The World Famous Jungle Cruise at Disneyland off and on for 6 years.

Since graduating college in the 90s...a waitress, credit card bank supervisor, engineering company product manager, union organizer, clinical research coordinator, clinical research associate and a clinical research project team leader...clinical research was the last 9 years of my life before PA school.

Late 70's to '81, EMT with a lot of exposure to medical examiner cases for a large N. Texas county (transport service). Interestingly, when co-workers have been aware of this past experience they're more interested in these stories than medical cases.