Student Case #3

Can I play??? smile.gif
lol. No... but I'd love to share war stories with you soon! :)
start with the PROS (pertinent review of systems): Cardiac, GI,

make sure you OPQRST the pain too and include any associated symptoms.

I am only in my first semester though, so I do not know too much

Good. What kind of questions would you ask the patient to get the OPRST? What are the pertinent ROS questions?
Agreed, include questions about trauma, PMHx, meds, allergies?? Aside from asking questions, what does she look like

(sick/ not sick)?

Your 6th "sickness" sense is tingling vibrantly.

Patient denies recent trauma.

PMHx:

SCD (sickle cell disease), SS

Meds:

Hydroxyurea 1000 mg qd, per heme regimen

Folic Acid 1 mg qd

Dilaudid 4mg po q4hrs prn pain

Yaz (OCP) 1 tab qd x 24 days then inert tabs x4 days

Allergies:

NKDA

Ok here goes!

Onset of chest pain, what setting, what is the quality of the pain, what is the pain on a scale from 0 to 10, does the pain radiate, any additional symptoms related to this chest pain, has the pt. taken anything for this pain and has it helped, and does anything make the pain worse. Is the patient pregnant as far as she knows? Last normal menstrual cycle?

I would ask ROS questions pertaining to Cardiac, GI, and Pulm systems: palpitations, SOB when lying flat, leg swelling, wheezing, any coughing with sputum production (and if so what was the amount, color, odor, and consistency) hemoptysis, abdominal pain, hematemesis, reflux, diarrhea, nausea, vomiting.

I'll stop there. Can't wait for the update!

describe the nature of the pain, when it started, was she doing anything special when it started, rate on scale 1/10, where it's located, does it radiate, anything make it feel better or worse, ever had anything like this before