Is it possible to get into PA school without any paid/certified healthcare experience

Hi, I am aiming to apply to PA school in fall of 2014. Right now, I am an undergraduate completing my majors and I am about to start volunteering at a hospice that will train me to become a Direct Care Level 1 volunteer. I have also volunteered at a hospital in the past, working with patients in recreational therapy. Is volunteering enough and is it considered direct patient care? Or do I need to become certified as an EMT/CNA or any other profession in order to have a chance at PA school?

Do you know about programs in NYC? I'm planning to apply to some with HCE required but I'm not sure if the volunteer I'm doing is enough. I'm also going to try and shadow someone, but I would like to get into a program without having to spend a bunch of time getting certified for something.

Again, its possible to get in with no experience

With that said, no you do not NEED certification in anything if you already have somewhere that is allowing you to gain direct patient care. I worked as a medical assistant in internal medicine but I am not a certified MA.....never even went to a program. The physician was simply willing to train me and everything worked out.

Is the hospice work enough? For some programs it is. Does it count as direct patient care? Well typically if you are physically involved in the care of a patient then yes. Will programs accept this as direct patient care? Dunno. You should contact the programs you are interested in with a formal job description of what your duties will be and let the programs tell you. Its easy to say RN, CNA, EMT, MA blah blah blah are definite forms, but things like scribes, unit clerks, certain volunteer positions are iffy. I mean they can count as healthcare experience but not direct patient care--some programs differentiate while others do not...

Hope that somewhat answers your questions