when your school's "cost of attendance" budget is not enough

Hi everyone: I'm a second semester student at the University of South Alabama in Mobile. This is my second time around in grad school, so I'm familiar w/ financial aid at the grad level, but PA school is its own beast since we are in school 3 semesters a year and cannot work. Currently, our school (like all schools) creates a yearly budget for tuition, fees, books/supplies, health insurance, and living costs. Everyone gets the $20,500 of subsidized/unsubsidized and the rest is made up in GRAD PLUS loans (the total is just over $33K/year). The problem is, the amount they have for our "budget" is not enough for those of us paying for everything (not getting money from our parents or something; I have like $100/month for groceries till next semester; and I like vegetables and fruits too much). I have talked to our faculty and our Financial Aid Department, but they haven't budged on this number. This is very annoying to our class, many of whom are contemplating getting jobs (impossible and actually prohibited) or taking out private loans (terrible idea) or are living off credit cards. The person in Financial Aid compares us to undergraduates, specifically "accelerated nursing program." She even seemed to suggest I get a job, to which I of course replied that our program prohibited it and that being in a classroom 40 hours a week and studying several hours a day on top of that does not leave much time for working anyway. I have done all the research and the medical students at our school have a living budget that is over $8,000 more a year than us (and summers off of course!).

My question: 1) Have any of you run into a similar problem with your school, where they don't seem to understand that PA students are different than undergrads or perhaps even other grad students when making a budget?