NHSC position salaries

First, I'm just beginning to research ways to pay for PA school and I have a question for anyone who has gone the NHSC repayment route. As I understand, you work at a designated site for them (with pay) and they repay up to a certain amount of loans that you have accrued. Do these underserved sites pay anything close to what a new PA could make in a better market?

• 1 month later...

A site can't pay you less because you are receiving NHSC loan repayment but sometimes facilities in underserved areas don't have the funds to pay you the same as a place in a large urban area. On the flip side, rural positions often pay very well because they badly need providers. You'll just have to find a job that fits you.

I am currently applying for my 3rd year with NHSC. It is a great program, and the help with loans is a HUGE help. My job is primary care in a rural area and we get paid average to above average. And if I factor in the tax free 60K I got to put toward my loans....I *made* more than some friends in Emergency Medicine. Just remember, working at a qualified NHSC site does not mean you will get the loan repayment. You have to apply and hope for the best.

I am currently applying for my 3rd year with NHSC. It is a great program, and the help with loans is a HUGE help. My job is primary care in a rural area and we get paid average to above average. And if I factor in the tax free 60K I got to put toward my loans....I *made* more than some friends in Emergency Medicine. Just remember, working at a qualified NHSC site does not mean you will get the loan repayment. You have to apply and hope for the best.

When should I start really looking into/applying for this? I don't start school until the fall and I've checked this program out on the website but hit a dead end when it said to contact your state's program office. It seems like you can't apply until you're about ready to graduate. Is this correct? It seems like a good deal...