PA job in the Fast Track

Hello all,

I've gotten my first job working in an Emergency Department's Fast Track. PA's and NP's at this hospital only work in the fast track, and occasionally will see patients in other rooms if needed. I did my EM rotation at a large hospital and didn't have any exposure to the fast track, so I haven't gotten daily exposure to what will complaints will be coming through. I've discussed this with my supervising physician to an extent, but would like some input from PA's who work/ have worked in this situation about what will/will not be sent to the fast track. I can imagine a lot of suturing, sprains/fractures, URI/sinusitis/AOM, rashes, mild head injuries/HA's, cellulitis/abscesses, GYN issues, ophtho issues... etc...

Just looking for some input I suppose so I know I'm as prepared as I can be when I start! :)

Congratulations on the new job! I am a new grad in my 4th week of working in the fast track in a mid-sized ED. I have been seeing all of the complaints you listed, in addition our fast track sees abdominal pain, might be good to review your differentials and work-up for that. I have had a couple of acute pancreatitis cases so far. We also see chest pain that triage feels is not likely cardiac, so depending on how your ED works might be a good idea to review PE/Costochondritis/GERD etc, I have discussed a couple of these cases with an attending and gone ahead with the cardiac work-up.

Oh my...LOL who slipped going into a restaurant, brought in by EMS, apparently felt to be a whiner and sent out to the waiting room in a wheelchair which we had a hell of a time getting her out of...intertrochanteric fx hip, and no ortho on call that weekend. Had to stabilize and transfer her. Just LOVE doing that from fast track. Also, she was magically more agreeable with pain medicine (poor lady!)