Recruiters Worthwhile?

I have posted this many times on many threads. The utility of a head hunter is limited in my own opinion.

The world is globally technologically connected and social media (insert huge eye roll) is mainstay.

If you know where you would like to live and what you want to do - you can network pretty easily.

For perspective, I graduated before the Internet and cell phones were still 50 cents a minute and installed in your car.

Use the state PA association and their website. Use the specialty organizations like PAs in the VA or PAs in Urology or whatever. 

Practices who are recruiting know about all this interconnectedness and should use it to their advantage. Any PAs they employ should be able to help find good candidates. 

In my own experience, practices using head hunters are trying to dress up a problem and find an unwitting candidate. 

Nothing is secret anymore.

If I found a practice as a patient or a potential employer, I would look up the docs and PAs on the state websites for sanctions, violations, years in practice. Then find the practice website. Then look them up on social media - look up the practice, look up the individuals. I do read YELP reviews and so on. They are amusing mostly - you can smell the drug seekers quickly but when you see 15 1-star ratings in 6 months and see similar verbiage - uncaring, won't listen, etc......... you get a clue.

If I dared to apply and interview - I would ask to talk directly to a PA working in the practice. If they won't let that happen - off I go.

If I get a glimmer that ANYONE related to the docs works in the practice - Alpha Mike Foxtrot - Adios. NOTHING can ever come of a spouse/child/sig other/mother/father working or managing a practice. 

I am no longer shy or naïve or restrained:

Why is this position open?

How many have held it in the past?

What is the staff turnover?

Do you use RVU model or straight salary?

What is the average workweek?