What type of health care experience looks good?

I am a new graduate nurse and aspiring PA who is having a hard time finding a nursing job. Hospital jobs are hard to come by, and it seems now the only places calling me back are non-hospital locations. Including nursing homes and psych facilities. I'll take what I can get since I need the healthcare experience, and the money. I also have a number of pre-reqs to complete. But would my chances of getting into PA school be negatively affected if I did not get acute care experience, which I won't get outside the hospital?

Guest hubbardtim48

I agree with PAMAC. Also, it depends on the type of program you are applying to (i.e. primary care, surgical, etc.). In my case my school is primary care oriented so working in a primary care area (nursing home, clinic, critical access hospital etc) would look awesome. Good luck and God bless.

My roommate and close friend went through the PA admissions process a few years back, when I was still in undergrad and pre-med (which really requires no patient contact). He completed an EMT program and worked for over a year while doing his pre-reqs, post-bacc. His classmates had done everything from volunteering in a hospital or nursing home, to having shadowing/volunteering satisfy that requirement. Patient contact is the key. If you're a new RN, any clinical position you take will probably give you more meaningful hands-on experience than anyone who wasn't in allied health prior to applying has.