Getting Pimped as a Professional

I am a physician assistant working in otolaryngology for the past 2.5 years and I continue to be pimped over and over again by the supervising physicians. 

Is this typical? On one hand I understand how this is a good way for the supervising physical to gauge what I do and do not know. On the other hand I feel like I'm no longer a student and should not be subject to random on the spot questions. When I don't know the answer, I feel embarrassed because I am no longer a student and thus "should know the answer." 

Just looking to gain some perspective on this. Thanks! 

Pimping is rude? 

I think if the Pimper is asking questions of deliberate obscurity that fall in the category of esoteric knowledge, and they seem to be asking those questions solely to get you to say 'I don't know' (because OF COURSE you don't know, it's a stupid question) - if that is the situation, then yes, pimping is rude. In that case, I deal with it like I deal with any rude person - water off a duck's back, it's their problem not mine, let's move on and take care of some patients.

If the Pimper is asking questions that are semi-obscure, but relevant - even if Pimpee is N years into their position - then well, maybe it's a teaching experience. A public one, to be sure, but a healthy ego does not bruise easily. Learn what you can, and move on.

There is always more to learn. Really!

*context: I work in an academic institution, 2.5 years in this position, I still get 'pimped' occasionally, if there is a learning point to it, then I take it to heart. If not, then not.

I think pimping as a tool for teaching is not tremendously effective. A little stress and pressure is sometimes good for learning - we all remember patients and experiences we’ve dealt with under fire - but done on the regular it loses its impact.