Deciding on PA vs MD

Good Afternoon,

I'm currently a college student taking pre-med courses.  However,  I'm unsure about whether I want to go to medical school or Physician Associate school.  Regardless of which career path I take I know I want to work in emergency medicine.  I've talked to a couple of doctors, and presented them with my dillema.  Both gave me very different answers.  However, I havent spoken with a Physician Associate and I was hoping that you would be willing to answer some of my questions.  If so, I will post the questions below.  Thank you for your time.

1) One of my primary concerns with choosing to be a PA is the thought of not having enough autonomy, or feeling like I want to know more to better help my patients.  Is there any time that you have felt this way?  Do you ever find yourself wanting to go to medical school in order to obtain the additional knowledge?

2) Through the research I've done, I've learned that PA's have a lot of lateral mobility in that they can move between specialties.  The way it seems is that you can pick whatever specialty you are interested in and work within that specialty until you want to change.  However, after talking to a trauma surgeon the lateral mobility seemed less flexible than I orignally thought.  He told me that you apply to a practice and they pretty much place you where ever they need you.  Is that true?  How difficult is it to go into your desired specialty?  Are you really a slave to the needs of the company in which you apply?

3) Lastly, what's the difference between working in trauma vs emergency medicine.  Do you have to be employed by a dedicated trauma center in order to work in trauma, or is it part of being in emergency medicine?

Again, thank you for your time.  Any information and perspective that you could offer would be extremely valuable.  Happy Holidays!